Audience Measurement Council

The IAB Audience Measurement Council set and monitor standards and guide development for the IAB endorsed digital audience measurement system.  For over 10 years the IAB has endorsed an exclusive and preferred supplier for reporting of digital audience across the diverse range of content and services in Australia to enable greater confidence to advertisers for planning decisions on where to invest their media budgets. In 2021 the IAB appointed Ipsos as the industry preferred supplier and, in collaboration with the IAB, Ipsos have built and continue to develop, Ipsos iris, a privacy compliant, people first, respondent-based, ratings system for the Australian market.  Comprised of leading measurement and research specialists from 12 media owners and with MFA representation, the IAB Measurement Council oversees this independent system to ensure high levels of credibility and transparency.

The council review and assess all areas of methodology and data output to ensure Ipsos iris reports meaningful metrics and addresses key market needs at quality standards suitable for decision making in digital strategy, advertising planning, and buying. The council provide guidance on roadmap developments as the measurement continues to evolve in the changing landscape. The council is also involved in setting the agenda for IAB’s annual measurement conference MeasureUp, along with the Ad Effectiveness Council.

More information on Ipsos iris can be found on the Ipsos and IAB Australia websites.              

 Measurement Council member representatives: 

  • Vanessa Ngothanh (ABC)
  • Natalie Bettini (Are Media)
  • Alex Mihalovich (Australian Community Media)
  • Caitlin Retell (Carsales)
  • Cameron Gunns (Daily Mail)
  • Ben Branagan (Domain)
  • Elizabeth Verow (Google)
  • John Grono (MFA)
  • Chris Taffs (News Corp)
  • Davina Stait (Nine Entertainment)
  • Margarida Fantini (REA Group)
  • Craig Johnson (Seven West Media)
  • Nikki Katsenos (The Guardian)

Members of the council are experienced media research specialists from media owner organisations who are subscribers to the Ipsos iris measurement service.


  • Ipsos iris monthly ratings press release: Ipsos’s monthly press release provides highlights of digital consumer behaviour and key audience ranking tables for digital brands.
  • Nickable slides: IAB Australia regularly provides members with industry slides featuring the latest Ipsos iris data and highlighting Australians consumption of the diverse range of digital content and entities available. These packs are made for pilfering and perfect for sales and pitch decks. 
  • The Australian Digital Landscape Report: this quarterly report provides an understanding of digital device ownership including what devices are being used by who, to access different types of digital content.

If you have any questions relating to the work being carried out by this Council, please email